2016 National Representative

Tara Moore

Distinguished Young Woman of America for 2016


Tara_Moore_DYW2016Tara Moore of South Carolina was named the Distinguished Young Woman of America for 2016 during the 59th National Finals in Mobile, Alabama on June 25, 2016.

In her hometown of Easley, South Carolina, Tara attended Powdersville High School, where she was Valedictorian of her class. Her academic honors include being a member of the National Honor Society, National Senior Beta Club, and a South Carolina Palmetto Fellow. This led to her being named a Scholastic Scholar at Clemson University, Columbia College and USC – Aiken.

Outside of the classroom, Tara pursues her two passions: her love of dance and of working with children with special needs. Tara has been a part of the Upstate Carolina Dance Center Jazz Company and Competition Team since childhood. As part of the Competition Team, she has had the opportunity to travel the country and attend both the Julliard School and Joffrey Ballet Summer Intensives. She also auditioned for the television competition shows “America’s Got Talent” and Paula Abdul’s “Live to Dance.”

Tara married her love of dance with a call to help children with special needs. Tara was an active member of Upstate Challengers, an organization that teaches dance to children with special needs. She also served as a Special Needs Mentor at her high school and volunteered with the Special Olympics.

Inspired by her two passions, Tara plans to pursue a career as a pediatric physical therapist. This fall, she will major in biomedical science at Clemson University, where she was recently selected as a member of its dance team.

Winning more than $55,000 in cash scholarships and a gold medallion, Tara is the program’s first national representative from South Carolina and will serve as the national representative of Distinguished Young Women throughout the year. She looks forward to her new adventures as the Distinguished Young Woman of America.

Request an interview with or appearance by Tara.

National Sponsors