Get to Know Maddy Miller - Distinguished Young Woman of Nebraska 2013

Name: Maddy Miller
Age: 18
Hometown: Omaha, Nebraska
College: Point Park University in Pittsburgh, PA
Major: Dance major with a Jazz concentration
 
What is your favorite TV show: Smash. Unfortunately it ended! But it was an amazing television show about the making of a Broadway musical.
 
What is your favorite movie: About Time. (I just saw it! It is now my new favorite movie!) It is a movie that has a positive look on life.
 
What is your favorite Olympic sport: Figure Skating. As a dancer I always thought I would be able to ice skate, but I can’t! So I enjoy watching!
 
What is your favorite Christmas/holiday tradition: One of my favorite Holiday traditions is decorating the Christmas tree while we listen to Christmas music. I love spending time with my family looking at all the ornaments we collected over the years.
 
What is your favorite time of year: Autumn. I love the change of the leaves and the cool air. Let’s not forget about the cute fall clothes! Scarves and sweaters!
Plan ahead OR procrastinate? Always plan ahead! This semester I have been finished all my homework in advance. Hopefully this doesn’t change!
Paper OR plastic? Paper.
Glass half-full OR glass half-empty? Glass Half full. You can always find something positive in every situation.
Introvert OR extrovert? Extrovert.
Cats OR Dogs? Cats! I have three cats at home that I miss terribly!
Morning person OR night person? Night person. I always get the most work done at night.
 
What would we find in your refrigerator right now? I really need to go grocery shopping so my refrigerator is very empty! I have grape jelly, applesauce, milk, grapes, and Dorothy Lynch salad dressing. I had to have my aunt send me some Dorothy Lynch salad dressing from Nebraska as it is not sold in Pittsburgh!
 
What is your biggest fear? Getting a dance injury and not being able to have a dance career.
 
What is the one thing you wish someone had told you about college life that you had to find out on your own? That being away from your family for so long is not easy. I have realized how much I love my family. Going to Mobile, Alabama for two weeks for nationals was the longest time I had been away from home. Now it has been almost 3 ½ months since I have been home and seen my family. Heading into this holiday season I will cherish the time my family has together more than ever.
 
Sum yourself up in three words. Compassionate, Determined, Dependable.
 
What do you want to be when you grow up and why? I plan on having a career as a professional dancer. My mom owns a dance school so I have been dancing since I was three years old. Oddly, I didn’t even start considering wanting to be a professional dancer until I was a sophomore in high school.  As a child I always wanted to be an artist, a doctor, or a teacher. As I got older, I became more serious about dance and fell in love with the art form. Now I can’t see myself doing anything else.
Describe your single-most favorite moment from your Distinguished Young Women experience. There are so many wonderful moments I experienced all throughout my Distinguished Young Women journey. I had an amazing host family in Mobile during nationals and two awesome roommates.  Some of my favorite moments were coming back to my host family’s home and just hanging out after a long day of activities. I loved getting to know my host parents, their daughter, and my roommates. At night they would always have delicious food for us and we would sit around and talk about our day, watch movies, and even watch old Distinguished Young Women videos! My host family was so generous to open up their home to us and they were extremely supportive. They always emphasized having fun and enjoying the once in a lifetime experience. I truly felt at home and leaving at the end of the two weeks was very difficult. I will always remember the time I spent with them and I hope to visit my distinguished family in the future.

Post a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe.


National Sponsors