Distinguished Young Women announces 2015-2016 Board of Directors and Officers

Faye Olensky, 2015-2016 Distinguished Young Women Board President

Mobile, Ala. (November 3, 2015) – Distinguished Young Women is pleased to announce its’ 2015-2016 board of directors and officers. Board members and officers were recently installed at the October 2015 annual meeting of the board of directors.

Faye Olensky will serve as president of the Distinguished Young Women board of directors for the upcoming year. Olensky has been an integral part of Distinguished Young Women for a number of years, beginning as a host family and then serving as a committee chairman for host families. From there she moved to a board position and finally accepted an invitation to be on the Executive Committee. She graduated from the University of Alabama in 1991 with a B.A. in Communications. Shortly after graduation, Olensky married her husband Jay and moved to Mobile. Together they have two beautiful daughters, Ashley and Courtney. Olensky is currently employed by WALA Fox 10 and has been instrumental in engaging their support of this program.

“When I became involved with this program about 15 years ago as a host family, it was simply to give my young girls big sisters that they could look up to,” said Olensky. “I never imagined that I would still be involved today; however, what I see that Distinguished Young Women does to empower young girls all across the United States continues to amaze me. It is truly an honor to serve as President of the Board of Directors and I am so excited for the year to come!”

Other incoming officers include: Deanna Graham of Evonik Corporation, secretary.

Distinguished Young Women also welcomes three new board members for 2015-2016: Kathy Latta, Kristin Parsons of Austal USA and Holly Walton of Debra’s Boutique.

Distinguished Young Women welcomes back returning board members including: Kesshia Davis, Vice President / Operations / Governance (Mobile Gas – A Sempra Company); T. Bragg Van Antwerp, Jr., Vice President / Finance (Mitchell, McLeod, Pugh & Williams, Inc.); Jessica M. Barrick (Bellingrath Gardens & Home); Jena Berson (City of Mobile – Office of the Mayor); Laura Burton (VERGE); Rena’ H. Davis (PNC Bank); Robert F. Diehl, Jr., (Trustmark National Bank); Buffy Donlon (Wintzell’s Oyster House Restaurant); Kristi Galloway (Regions Bank); Dee Gambill, Past President; Joy Grodnick, Past President; Ashley Halfman (Miller & Martin PLLC); Chuck Harmon (Wells Fargo); Kellie Carter Hope; Shirley Justice, Past President (Sirote and Permutt PC); Phil Kaiser, Past President (Retired President/CEO Gayfers/Maison Blanche Dept. Stores); Paul Klotz, Past President (Thompson Engineering); Mitch McConnell (McConnell GMC); Geri Moulton; Dean Parker (VITA Capital); Paige Plash, Past President (Encore Rehabilitation, Inc.); Michael Rice (Master Boat Builders); Vicki Rosetti-Applewhite; Kriselyn Barnes Swalley (Jim Barnes Enterprises, DBA McDonald’s); Beth Thomas (Alabama Power Company); Creath Townsend; Carna Triftshauser (HospiScript Service); David Turner, Past President (BancorpSouth).

About Distinguished Young Women

Founded in 1958 in Mobile, Alabama, Distinguished Young Women is the largest and oldest national scholarship program for high school girls. During its 58 years of operation, the program has provided life-changing experiences for more than 740,000 young women. Last year, Distinguished Young Women provided more than $820 million in cash and college scholarship opportunities to program participants at the local, state and national level. Previously known as America’s Junior Miss, the program announced its new name in June 2010.

The mission of Distinguished Young Women is to positively impact the lives of young women by providing a transformative experience that promotes and rewards scholarship, leadership and talent. National sponsors include Mobile County, City of Mobile, Wintzell’s Oyster House, The Hearin-Chandler Foundation, Encore Rehabilitation, Alabama Power Foundation, Master Boat Builders, Barbara Barrington Jones Family Foundation, Regions Financial Corporation, and Alabama Media Group.

For more information about Distinguished Young Women, contact Megan Arendall, National Headquarters Marketing and Communications Director (251-438-3621, Megan@DistinguishedYW.org) or visit www.DistinguishedYW.org. Find us on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube.

Post a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe.

National Sponsors